Gorilla – A Poem

I had seen you on television
where you were easily ignored
but here you breathe
twenty feet from me
black as coal
with the same potential
to burn

from the set of shoulders
like cannonballs
through massive chest
articulate fingers
that could crack bone
and cup infants

What is this majestic
not primitive
not natural

It is your connectedness
the roots and trunks
dawns and calls
are you
and you them
undivided

Then I see
written in the depthless
sadness of your eyes
the bars 
are not to protect me


A response to Susan's prompt.

Almost certainly I should edit this for the hackneyed bits – but heck – critical feedback welcome.

The world is insane and I'm in writing therapy!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Poetry
25 comments on “Gorilla – A Poem
  1. you have captured the majestic behind the wires – *nods* and very much likes.

  2. Oh, I like where you are going with this. Love the first two stanzas, the layered meanings of coal and articulate. #3 I get what you are trying to say–I do–but I really want you to jump to and go deeper into connectedness instead.

    and while I have seen
    war and death
    my eyes cannot hold
    what blacks the vision
    behind the wire

    Just a random thought–you know what I mean here.

  3. merbear74 says:

    You guys are such wonderful poets!! *Admiring nod.*

  4. Thank you. I am reblogging because I believe the power of your poetry will influence empathy and compassion for living beings who cannot speak for themselves. Many Blessings! ~Gerean Pflug for The Animal Spirits

    PS ~ Am posting a link to this poetry on our Facebook page at: http://www.facebook.com/TheAnimalSpirits

  5. Reblogged this on THE ANIMAL SPIRITS and commented:
    Poet writes and influences empathy for living beings who cannot speak for themselves. All of have gifts that can be used in powerful ways. Thank you to all of the bloggers on WordPress for their acts of compassion. ~Gerean Pflug for The Animal Spirits

  6. rosedixon says:

    Captivating words. I love “the articulate fingers that could crack bone
    and cup infants” the tension of opposites. Humans hold the same opposite potentials, to set free or imprison. Thank You to The Animal Spirits for bringing this post to my attention by reblogging.

  7. Regarding the animal poetry challenge by Susan, I hereby throw in my two cents worth of prose ~ “To Kill a Whale”

    http://animalspirits222.wordpress.com/2013/01/17/to-kill-a-whale/

    ~Gerean Pflug for The Animal Spirits

  8. unfetteredbs says:

    I love how you captured the sadness of his eyes and of yours. A quiet hush at the end Mr. Panda.

  9. I know that one has to take a critical step back when assessing one’s own work, but I think that you can be too hard on yourself. This is beautiful.

  10. BroadBlogs says:

    I have mixed emotions about zoos. I like seeing the animals, but I feel they should be behind bars. So it can be depressing.

    • ruleofstupid says:

      This is where I am. It’s complicated – some animals are preserved through zoos, but then that’s because we wiped them out! I love to see them, but would sacrifice this if they could be uncaged and safe.

  11. Reblogged this on Ramblings From A Mum and commented:
    This is from Panda – Please check out his site for more very impressive poetry.

  12. Jeremy Nathan Marks says:

    This is very painful for me to read so I think you have succeeded in striking at the heart of something very primary. I am reminded of Rilke’s poem about the panther in his cage.

    • ruleofstupid says:

      Thank you so much Jeremy – frankly I can’t imagine I’ll ever be implied in a mention of Rilke again, so I’m pasting this in my scrapbook forever!

      And yes, there is similarity at least in message if not in ability!:

      The Panther

      His vision, from the constantly passing bars,
      has grown so weary that it cannot hold
      anything else. It seems to him there are
      a thousand bars; and behind the bars, no world.

      As he paces in cramped circles, over and over,
      the movement of his powerful soft strides
      is like a ritual dance around a center
      in which a mighty will stands paralyzed.

      Only at times, the curtain of the pupils
      lifts, quietly–. An image enters in,
      rushes down through the tensed, arrested muscles,
      plunges into the heart and is gone.

      Rainer Maria Rilke

      • Jeremy Nathan Marks says:

        I am happy to be able to mention you in the same breath as Rilke: compliment intended. 🙂

        I was caught by the compassion in your poem; the captivity of animals and their sorrow is a subject that is not only close to my heart -it is my heart. I am always encouraged when others write about this subject with passion and conviction and can do so -as you have- with beauty.

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 804 other followers

Types of stuff
This many people
  • 21,084 have dropped by
Copyright – Rule of Stupid (c)
© Rule of Stupid 2015. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rule Of Stupid and ruleofstupid.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Digital Smithy

Reading, writing and a-rhythmic tics

The Last Half

Spitting into the online ocean.

the secret's out

Deciphering my Creativity

the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

Bishop Eddie Tatro's Study

Wisdom from a Southern-Gentleman & Bishop

Commentality - Lotsa Comments ....

Come On In and Enjoy The Ride!

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Chasing Rabbit Holes

This site is the cat’s meow and the dog's pajamas

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

behindthemaskofabuse

Abuse,narcissism,survival,there is hope,poetry,art,photography

In the Net! - Stories of Life and Narcissistic Survival

This is my story and I'm sticking to it!

UnfetteredBS

letting it rip, my way

mobius faith imaging

person of mystery...soul dancer...quietness advocate...invisibility promoter

Knocked Over By A Feather

IT WAS A BIG FUCKING FEATHER...

aliceatwonderland

. . . down the rabbit hole

waywardspirit

In wonder.

BroadBlogs

A broad blogs broadly on women’s & men's psychology: sex, relationships, equality

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

Speaker7

speaks to the masses of people not reading this blog

Fake Plastic Trees

A blog about the back of the box.

BECKY SAYS THINGS

Becky says things about things and other things

Mind of a Mouse

Easily Startled, Probably Panicking

Sheila Hurst

Reading, writing, dreaming

