Old and new – A Poem

Triggered by a prayer like gravity, and susan daniels – this is my response to gravity’s prompt.


Old and New

I had no truck with romance and fluff


Call me a crusty old gust

of yesterdays stuffy huff

if you must


There were gambles I could make

but where the heart was at stake

I played it safe


I’d had my share of aches

and desires to slake

but squirrelled them away


Until she came from the grey

and for brief years she stayed

to chip my walls away


I lay with her form as it grew

to become the only

shape of love that I knew


And my forlorn acorn of lust

once scorned became an undauntable

oak of us


She the frame of life explained

my veins contained

the love we made


She my sight, my reason why

my strength to fight

my air supply


She all too temporary real

still fills my arms, I can feel

her gone


Even now more real than anyone


20 thoughts on “Old and new – A Poem

Add yours

      1. LOL well – JCC started it all. He and I were joking a few poems ago about making something sound romantic…and I said toilet paper, mud, and old shoes. 🙂 He took the next one (this) and named it 3 nuts and a squirrel (which follows the acorn challenge from earlier tonight’s theme too)…and off we went. I’m waiting for someone to pick up the charge and come up with the next one!

  1. Painfully good! It made me miss someone from a past that I try to forget. But, at the same time, it made ​​me feel something slightly good because, at least, there was someone in my past.

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

... on being and becoming ...

... a mobius faith blog ...

faceatthewindow

the inside, and outside, of my head

Gabriela LeBarón

Stories Poetry Art Opinion

Poetry on the run

a poet's search for poetry

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

