Past Present – A Poem

You tear open your present,
With a total delight
That tears open my present


From the paper comes joy
Uncontained
From the rip only yesterday
Again


When will I shake the shudder
That quakes me utterly
When happiness threatens


I don’t want to mourn
The child of I
That died
Each time
This child of mine
Thrives


The season still
Is one of wanting so much
For my heart to thaw enough
That it can feel all I pretend
To my children


Do I do enough
Each time
I play
The Pantomime


Or perpetuate the curse
I wanted to remain
Mine

32 thoughts on “Past Present – A Poem

Add yours

      1. Christmas in a Muslim country is a pretty relaxed affair, so suits us perfectly. The boys are happy – they’ve spent the morning ‘junk modelling’ with the Christmas packaging and are now out building a blanket fortress with the other kids in the compound. I’m happy to see they have a healthy disrepect for the ‘stuff’ they were given!

      2. It will be a dry one for me but not because of where we live. I stage a pathetic one-woman rebellion against the Scottish decree that you have to get rat-arsed at hogmanay!

      3. Ooh, I feel like Rita and you’re…well whatever Michael Caine’s character was called!
        Now I feel like I may double-bluff myself into having a drink on Hogmanay and actually enjoying it, as us Scots aren’t actually supposed to win anything. πŸ™‚

  1. Oh dear, I’ve just realised the actual TITLE of my post this afternoon is along the lines of Past Present. It must have seeped into my subconsciousness and there I thought I was being mildly clever with a deliberately nonsensical title (okay, I couldn’t think of anything else). Massive apologies or erm, thanks!

  2. I softly say this was quite wonderful..sad, true and from the heart. Hard to be fully happy when there is such painful sadness

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

... on being and becoming ...

... a mobius faith blog ...

faceatthewindow

the inside, and outside, of my head

Gabriela LeBarΓ³n

Stories Poetry Art Opinion

Poetry on the run

a poet's search for poetry

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

