Appropriate Adult – A Poem

Words may be ignored

Amid the chitter

Of chicks

Scattering sounds indiscriminately

As a child blows bubbles

Just to see them drift


Actions might be gesture

Safely consigned

As mere signs of life

Little ones dance loose

To music parents cannot hear

So seem mad in youth


But those ridiculous flags

You laughed scornfully at

Forgetting it was you

Who left me only ugly scraps

To stitch and patch

Were dyed in blood


Still, I need do nothing to repay

And in that way

I will ensure

Such a thin crowd

When they lower you

To your grave

13 thoughts on “Appropriate Adult – A Poem

Add yours

      1. I shall, thanks Susan. Yes, I didn’t want to confess to yet further creative burglary, but your poem about your mum was a large ingredient in the chain. Funny thing is, there is something wonderful in submerging one’s self in the sadder reality of Xmas. Yes, celebrate the yippee stuff, but also the remembrance, the marking of meanings both good and sad. While we obsessively promote being happy, we miss an entire half of life if we don’t embrace the sorrowful memories.

      2. Mike–it is not burglary if you didn’t copy my poem & paste your name on it–inspiration belongs to all of us…and as you inspire me, how can I then turn around and grumble about inspiring you? I think it’s great!

  1. Little ones dance loose
    To music parents cannot hear
    These are 2 favourite lines of mine.

    They dance to the beat of their own drum.

    I too get a little melancholy at this time of year – I know not why. Perhaps the Grinch in me hasn’t changed from the year past.
    A raw & emotional piece – thank you ROS. 🙂

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

... on being and becoming ...

... a mobius faith blog ...

faceatthewindow

the inside, and outside, of my head

Gabriela LeBarón

Stories Poetry Art Opinion

Poetry on the run

a poet's search for poetry

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

