Real to Real – A Poem

My previous post generated some comments between myself and Susan – which after some editing became this!

So. If you fancy it, I offer a challenge. From your own blog (or another), can you pick a comment chain and – with minimal editing – turn it into a poem? If so, link to the poem and the comments here (in a comment), I’ll choose a favourite and they can pick from a choice of prizes!! Woo!

Prize One: I’ll write a review of your blog which is either nice or caustic (your choice!)

Prize Two: I’ll write a poem about your choice of subject (something nice for nanna this Christmas?!).

Prize three: You can guest blog on Rule of Stupid (yeah, I know, I was running out of prizes!)

Judging to be done on Monday night, to announce next Tuesday πŸ™‚

Anyway – here’s the poem.


Real to Real

You are not going quietly mad alone.

If you have room in your padded cell,

I will be happy to join you.


Authenticity has its price,

As does imitation.


If I must pick a way to misery,

I choose the way that lets me be

less a liar to myself.


I salute you.

Let us bounce off the walls

Together!


Yes?


Yes!


Let’s have our

fragmented festival of strange

pulling balloon animals

from our heads

that everyone else

claims are imaginary


but I know that tiger is real

because I drew his stripes


And I know the chameleon is true

because I see him change


Your animals and mine

unbounded, uncaged

I see them seep

into other peoples sleep

even as they are

pushed away

40 thoughts on “Real to Real – A Poem

Add yours

  1. This was great, rollicking fun, Panda/Mike! Sadly, I cannot participate in the contest, because my blog comments are full of poetry, so I am going to sit back, relax, and enjoy the results you get on this. I think it’s a marvelous idea!

      1. Oh, they’ll go for it. If ***I*** were to do it ***I would go to my blog and get comments already in poetic form from Panda Man, Noel, Jeremy, or David Trudel*** to enter said contest. Hints are *******starred***** people πŸ˜‰

      1. Alas, no insertions … πŸ™‚ My poetry would stink up the joint. I assure you. Every time I read one of your poems, I think “how the hell did he do that?”

  2. uhmm….I find this absolutely fascinating and want to try …but I am a bit confused…where do I post my try at this? (oh lord … am I setting myself up to be made fun of? “look, she can’t even read directions. How will she even figure out a blog comment poem!”)

    1. Just do a normal post Katie, but put a link back to here in your post so I know where to find it (and link to where you got the comments too)
      Look forward to seeing it (but go easy on the maths! Not a Panda strong point!)
      And yes, of course you’re setting yourself up – that’s the fun bit πŸ˜‰

  3. I love this one!! It reminded me of this great song and video:

    I’m just sad I found it so late, do you think I can still jump into the bandwagon and post an entry tomorrow morning possibly? πŸ™‚

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

... on being and becoming ...

... a mobius faith blog ...

faceatthewindow

the inside, and outside, of my head

Gabriela LeBarΓ³n

Stories Poetry Art Opinion

Poetry on the run

a poet's search for poetry

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

