The Last Place You Look – A Poem

I am here


No

Not in the medicine drawer

Where you keep all the last ditches

and the off switches


I want to close the circuit


I am here


No

Not in the bed

Where you outstay your needs

and water your memories


I want to wake you up


I am here


No

Not in your party dress

That slips over your head

and locks down your eyelids


I want to know you deeply


I am here


Yes

At the end of alternatives


This poem is dedicated to my daughter. May you stand still long enough to see that it’s the running away which creates what you run from xx

9 thoughts on “The Last Place You Look – A Poem

Add yours

  1. I can appreciate the sentiment; your daughter’s my age, right? 🙂 I will say a little bit it’s touches the creepy side. Very dark. I like it nonetheless. It suits you. Check out the about what and tell me what you think 😉

  2. The sadness is in the possibility that by the time we finally look in the last place we look, what we seek, has already gone. (On the other hand, what we seek isn’t always in the first place we look either). O-arent’cha-glad for this golden morsel of wisdom? 🙂 ~G

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

... on being and becoming ...

... a mobius faith blog ...

faceatthewindow

the inside, and outside, of my head

Gabriela LeBarón

Stories Poetry Art Opinion

Poetry on the run

a poet's search for poetry

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

