My only comment is, no comment…

While I am a being of the highest enlightenment I am also a tremendously sulky bastard. Recently I have tried to post various ‘critical’ comments. While I haven’t said bad things about other Blogs (I am magnanimous enough not to expect my own high standards from other lesser mortals) I have made observations about poetry or writing, where I feel it’s strong, where I struggled to ‘get it’.

When I started Blogging it was such feedback I sought, so I give it. In some cases this has been accepted, in others I find I am treated as a monstrous beast for daring to offer my opinion.

Fair enough, call me a monstrous beast for the dread things I do with badgers on each solstice (notice ‘with’, not ‘to’ – they enjoy it, but I know the public could never understand), but not for my attempts to correct typo’s, grammatical failings, or make creative suggestions.

In bed with a badger!
She makes me feel a man, as only badgers can

Despite my magnificently sized peni ego, it’s actually difficult to comment on people’s work. I can’t pretend to be an expert (because it’s true 😉 ) and I make it clear that I offer a point of view, not a ‘do it my way or what the raging f*k are you blogging for anyway you typographically inept, metaphor mangling, testicle-brained arse!’

So here’s a blatantly comment-prostituting cue – what do you think. Because seriously, I’ve considered becoming a kind of “comment-hater” or “artful-blogger” (THAT’S MY F*N NAME NOW, I JUST MADE IT UP! – what? It’s what? Bloody obvious? Used by loads of people already! I’m a walking (typing) cliche! – oh crap…)

Stuff that then, just tell me, is WordPress a place for feedback, or should I just piss off to “pretentious-verbal-masturbators-comment-on-each-others-seminal-works.com”?

Kanga-hamster-pig-bunny hostage situation
My artistic skills may have found a new low…

Or should I just piss off!? 😉

18 thoughts on “My only comment is, no comment…

Add yours

  1. I loved your recent critical comments on my poem. I am always looking to grow. I found it helpful. I also enjoyed the comments others posted afterwards, however I was concerned about how they would be received by you. I guess if you should “piss off” or not would depend on the blogger, but I would continue to welcome any comments, constructive or complimentary from you in the future. 🙂

  2. hhmmm… you seem frustrated… a lot of your writings pertain to the political situation in Britain, and while I think I agree with much of your opinion I am not educated enough on the political situation over there to be able to make any viable comments… I think personally you need to just keep on, keeping on, people are reading… you are reaching people… that is what counts…

    As for others being able to take or not take your comments that is really up to them now isn’t it? Either they will understand and receive what it is you are trying to get across or they won’t – You are responsible only for what you say, not for how they perceive it…

    1. Thank you Heart, you sound genuinely concerned, which is lovely.
      I think it must be confusing to read my blog… One minute I’m writing heartfelt biographical poetry, the next I’m posting pictures of fornicating with badgers! and yes, lots of politics.
      Suffice to say this was one of my ‘because I like ranting’ posts. I certainly have no intention of stopping, my posts or my comments, I love the blog-o-sphere!
      Those who send love warm my heart, those who don’t warm the engine of my rant-house – whichever, it is all good 😉

  3. I think it’s a bit of each, to be honest. There’s a lot of mutual masturbation that goes on, which I suppose is better than constant snarking and sniping. But some of it is over the top, and I know when people are blowing smoke up my ass. That being said, it can be a very supportive community, one that was a pleasant surprise to me. And if you want honest feedback from people, I’m sure people can oblige you there as well.

    1. It’s true. I will try not to commentarily singe your sphincter! It’s a great community. Have you noted that it’s self-policing? Like old communities where everyone knew each other. There’s no attacking here, because people value the community and want to stay in it; whereas in the ‘real world’ people can hold the society which disdains them in contempt, and offend against it accordingly (very simplistic, but there’s something to be learned here).

      1. It’s definitely self-policing—nobody wants to trash what you say, lest you go and trash what they say. But it can be a bit too proper at times, nobody want to step on anyone’s toes. I’ve mixed it up with some bloggers, but generally people I don’t like anyway, or people whose comments/politics are so insane that I couldn’t let it go.

  4. Nothing but love here, because harsh or not, it all makes me smile and giggle, especially when the wanker like ranting and beating the donkey posts come about. I love the smell of … well you get it or not.

  5. Don’t piss off! Your cheeky posts cheer me up.
    And personally I love constructive critique and wish I would get more of it. How else could I improve? So give it my way if you want!
    I think it is not your words that hurt people, it might be your words poking at their fear of not being able to introspect and improve.
    Do you think you’re in the need of blood pressure medicine soon with all your ranting? Make sure a vein in your head doesn’t pop. 😉

    1. It’s the ranting that keeps the blood-pressure down 😉
      I think the increasingly splenetic Blog Tips (two more scheduled for later) show I’m not for pissing off just yet (except maybe pissing people off!)
      I shall remember the request next time I read your post – beware!

  6. I think you are smart enough to know who wants genuine critical observation and who just wants likes and smarmy larding…go with your instincts…The only rule is, if you give it, you’ve got to be able to take it (oo er) and I think it’s pretty obvious you love it up you so no worries there….;-)

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

... on being and becoming ...

... a mobius faith blog ...

faceatthewindow

the inside, and outside, of my head

Gabriela LeBarón

Stories Poetry Art Opinion

Poetry on the run

a poet's search for poetry

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

