Writing, self, audience and why it’s about love (now with 20% extra self-abuse!)

I read a post a (random time – to protect the victim of this rant) ago which talked about how the blogger only wrote during ‘inspired’ times. I replied light-heartedly that this must be exhausting, to have to be in this ‘burning’ state whenever writing. Most writers learn some techniques and methods to enable them to write even when the fire isn’t under them, so to speak.

Their response surprised and saddened me and I replied again at length, but I wanted to bring that rant here too.

They responded by saying “I never make any conscious efforts when it comes to improving my writing skills – I just read or write as much as I can.”

At first this might seem ok – they read and write a lot, which is enough, yes? But for me it wasn’t enough.

What if I had the same attitude while a musician? I could simply watch guitarists play all day without ever reading a score or a book on technique, never learning a chord and then consider myself a musician. If I were to pick up a guitar and just bash it against my head I’m sure I could make interesting noises, but to play in a way which others might wish to hear, or at least could understand, I should learn some chords. (okay, so there’s a lot of people who could happily watch me smash myself over the head with a guitar for many hours, but that’s not the point…)

Musicians who can't play

Being different isn’t always brilliant…

Granted there’s no need to learn scales and theory if you just want to busk some pop hits – but some structure is required, some learning, some technique.

The difference with writing is that language is not just a ‘nice ability to have’, but our primary expression of self, and it’s reflexive; the more ways to use language you learn, the more you can express, the more you can be. George Orwell’s 1984 is a book which acknowledges this importance of language upon freedom of self – with Big Brothers Newspeak being designed to limit thought and thus the possibility of action. Learning more about language literally makes you more of a person, enables you to have deeper and more complex experiences.

Just imagine having no words at all for anger, or love, or happy. How could you express on your blog ‘happy’, without the word ‘happy’, or ‘delighted’, or ‘pleased’ etc? So you could not share ‘happy’ as an experience.

What if you only knew ‘happy’ – can you imagine. I went on holiday which made me happy. We bought ice-cream and I was happy. The fair-ground was a happy place and riding the wheel made me happy. I’m happy to write to you and hope you’re happy. Many happy returns.

Vomit with tedium.

Since sharing is a necessary element of experience (we are social selves – our lives only have meaning in our sharing of selves) – an inability to share is a restriction of our ability to experience (this is shown in detail in a fascinating book by Paul John Eakin.)

To test this, take away all concepts and words relating to money – now try doing your shopping.

Wanking monkey

Yes, I admit, that is a terrible drawing of a monkey…

The difference between an ape who happily masturbates for the zoo-going public, and a homo-sapien – who hopefully doesn’t – is self-consciousness – the most fundamental element of which is linguistic self-expression and self-definition. Being better at language opens up the world in an essential way, and it opens ourselves up to ourselves and for sharing with others.

If you didn’t know any grammar, you couldn’t make sense to others at all, so couldn’t express yourself. People who crap on about not learning music theory because they ‘wanna play like me not someone else, man!’, are just talking balls. No amount of skill or knowledge can make you someone you are not (which is a stupid notion anyway – The oxymoron is the clue! HOW can we be someone we are not! Will we undergo some molecular transubstantiation of consciousness if we accidentally read the wrong book?!?! This whole post-Cartesian flap about our ‘crisis of self-authenticity’ is such a pile of arseholes!)

Knowledge only makes you more of yourself – there is no-one else you CAN be!

I respect not wanting to Write (capital W) or learn to Write for ‘a job’, but the uniqueness of language is it’s capacity to simultaneously express, shape, change and ‘enlarge’ the language user – who wouldn’t want that?

The next point the blogger made was this:

Writing in between moments of inspiration?
To me, it sounds like having sex without being aroused – I mean, one can make himself do that, but what’s the point? And, don’t get me wrong, but I think that expecting readers to enjoy reading what you didn’t enjoy writing seems like looking down on them…

Actually it’s not like sex without arousal, it’s like love without all the culturally accreted bullshit.

Instant courting

Love is not a pot-noodle

Loving another does mean enjoying the times things are all effortlessly aflame – but they are rare, however real the love. Very often love requires working hard for each other when times are difficult. The idea that love simply makes every day burn with passion without effort is a nonsense bred of cheap romance novels and people’s common error of mistaking an erection for the first signs of romance – love requires work.

Imagine if a partner said, “well, doing that for me was an effort for you – so you clearly don’t love me any more – we’re finished!”

I hope the reader respects that the author cares enough about them that they have worked even when it’s hard (the writing, not the erection) in order to get the story to them. Far from looking down on the reader, it’s a dedication to them, and to the writing.

Personally I find the idea that one might expect to be read even though one couldn’t be bothered to learn how to write very well far more dismissive of the reader. Equally, how much do we need an author who can only be bothered to write when it takes no effort? Isn’t that just like masturbating and expecting other people to watch in fascination?

A very interesting person, doing nothing

In stillness there is wisdom… Norman Wisdom

A blog isn’t just for professional writers, but nor is it designed to be the lexical wanking house for lazy, semi-literate narcissists. You don’t have to want to be the next Proust to spend a little time becoming a good writer – out of respect for the people who are reading you, and for yourself.

You lazy bastard.

Or am I alone in this?

The world is insane and I'm in writing therapy!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Funny (maybe), General, Rants
17 comments on “Writing, self, audience and why it’s about love (now with 20% extra self-abuse!)
  1. I write every day as much as I can. If you don’t force yourself to write regularly, you’re days of inspiration are going to dwindle. If you don’t write through the crap and get it out, it’s going to stay inside you. And if you don’t learn how to revise the crap, how can you learn to revise the better stuff. Bottomline, you’re right. I enjoyed your rant.

  2. berry556 says:

    From a semi – literate narcissist I enjoyed how I read your article ! Everyone has a right to be a fool . What I read and write confirms that many times a day . 🙂 Skill and knowledge has little to do with blogging from my point of view .

  3. Many years ago–1985 to be exact–I took my first grad course. When our first paper was assigned, one of the students asked a question. I can’t recall exactly how it was phrased but the gist was ‘how much effort should I put into this?’ The professor’s answer still rings in my head, ‘At this level we expect that every piece of work is the best you can do under your own particular circumstances.’

  4. I think that a blog is a very personal sort of thing, which people write for all kinds of different reasons – from expressing themselves and their feelings to sharing specific ideas or selling a product or service.

    How well and how often they write depends on a number of factors, I’m sure. For all those reasons, I rarely apply my own standards to other people’s blogs, and if they don’t interest or engage me, I simply don’t read them, as there are certainly plenty more out there to choose from.

    For my own part, I blog when I have the time, or have something interesting to share, but it’s not the highest priority in my life. I’m more concerned with helping my clients and developing my intuitive abilities, for example, so that I can do an even better job for them. I certainly don’t consider my blog to be an obligation of any kind, and it wouldn’t be much fun if I did!

    I read blogs of all different kinds, some of which are well written, and others of which are composed by people for whom English is clearly not even their mother tongue. And yet they still manage to be interesting, and to convey important ideas. I can see the soul of the person (and their ideas) behind the broken language, and for this reason I’ve noticed that some of the most poorly written blogs I follow are often the most avidly followed by other people.

    Every person is different, and the older and more experienced I become, the happier I am to allow each person to walk their own individual path, because it is this variety that makes life so interesting.

    And I am less and less interested in convincing other people to see my own point of view, since I realize that the only person I can change is myself, and trying to change other people usually only results in frustration and disappointment for both parties.

    So that’s my two cents – make of it what you will! 🙂

    • ruleofstupid says:

      Two cents? Girl that’s a whole bag-o-change!
      I don’t disagree with you. I too enjoy second-language or error prone blogs. I think it was more the lack of care or effort that got to me. Besides, it’s hard to get a rant going when being reasonable!
      I don’t expect other people to live up to my standards – they’re so high after all, who could! 😈
      I’m not trying to change anyone – just raise a laugh or a thought. I’m only just wise enough to know I’m not wise enough to tell anyone else what to do!
      I do disagree about selling via blogs – for me they’re Social Media, not commercial media – and there’s sooo many other places to sell stuff.
      So there’s your dollar change! 😉 thanks for commenting

      • Hey, change is good! I think it’s all good, really. I certainly blog for more than commercial purposes, personally, but for people like me who do all our work and find almost all our clients on the internet, it’s also an indispensable way to let people know that our services exist, and to let our clients know what we’re up to lately. So I don’t think that’s a bad thing either, really.

        Rant on! 🙂

  5. Melanie says:

    The subject of your rant would do well to learn some history too. It’s rare that a master of craft is born a master of craft. Rather, they sat and copied the works of the well-practiced in order to better their skills. That wasn’t writing from inspiration, but inspiration was a result.

  6. Agree 100%. Being inspired to write is great, but it is not necessary. Most of the times we can tease the inspiration out with a little work–something as difficult as picking up a pen or sitting in front of a keyboard to me does not involve a vast amount of effort, and usually does the trick.

  7. Loved your rant – agree completely!

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 806 other followers

Types of stuff
This many people
  • 21,021 have dropped by
Copyright – Rule of Stupid (c)
© Rule of Stupid 2015. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rule Of Stupid and ruleofstupid.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Digital Smithy

Reading, writing and a-rhythmic tics

The Last Half

Spitting into the online ocean.

the secret's out

Deciphering my Creativity

the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

Bishop Eddie Tatro's Study

Wisdom from a Southern-Gentleman & Bishop

Commentality - Lotsa Comments ....

Come On In and Enjoy The Ride!

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Chasing Rabbit Holes

This site is the cat’s meow and the dog's pajamas

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

behindthemaskofabuse

Abuse,narcissism,survival,there is hope,poetry,art,photography

In the Net! - Stories of Life and Narcissistic Survival

This is my story and I'm sticking to it!

UnfetteredBS

letting it rip, my way

mobius faith imaging

person of mystery...soul dancer...quietness advocate...invisibility promoter

Knocked Over By A Feather

IT WAS A BIG FUCKING FEATHER...

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

aliceatwonderland

. . . down the rabbit hole

waywardspirit

In wonder.

BroadBlogs

A broad blogs broadly on women’s & men's psychology: sex, relationships, equality

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

Speaker7

speaks to the masses of people not reading this blog

Fake Plastic Trees

A blog about the back of the box.

BECKY SAYS THINGS

Becky says things about things and other things

Mind of a Mouse

Easily Startled, Probably Panicking

Sheila Hurst

Reading, writing, dreaming

