Will you be lonely this Christmas? Need some Yule Blog?

*** Update – the Company for Christmas Blog is now HERE – more info to follow soon ***

Hi folks. I had an idea which I dismissed as stupid, but it won’t go away, so I’m putting it in the blogosphere.

I used to work in supported housing. Often people lived there because their families had come apart, and they were now very much alone.

During Christmas almost everybody, almost every TV program, almost every street poster shows happy families, happy couples or groups in warm cosy settings. For those isolated or separated Christmas can be extremely difficult. These ‘happy tidings’ are painful, yet who wants to be the sad face when everyone else is laughing? This makes it hard to even talk about the loneliness.

The idea I had, which may be silly I don’t know, was to set-up a blog especially for Christmas – The Yule Blog. On this blog people can volunteer to be watching and responding. Maybe there can be a rota and people can choose one-hour or two-hour slots, until the whole 24hrs is covered.

People exist for anyone in crisis, such as the Samaritans, so the blog would be more about offering a chance to be sociable, rather than being a ‘help-line’.

I remember being alone at Christmas as a teenager and how it feels. I also remember the importance of the extra effort staff put in at Christmas for the housing project. It makes a huge difference just to have someone to talk to.

I know other services exist, but the blog is a world of its own – and there are many people already here who already have blog-friends.

What do people think. Would you re-blog this to spread the idea? Is this a good idea, or is there already enough out there? Would you use it, or volunteer for it? Do you have ideas for how it might work?

I’d really appreciate feedback, as I can’t shake the idea till I’ve heard some thoughts.

17 thoughts on “Will you be lonely this Christmas? Need some Yule Blog?

Add yours

  1. I think this could be a grand idea as long as it is administered properly… and people are dedicated to their time slots… Loneliness during the holidays is a terrible thing and I think you hit the nail on the head with saying that no-one wants to be the sorrowful one bringing up the loneliness and hardship when it supposed to be the time of joy, and giving, etc… I will share your idea… consider it reblogged 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on myspokenheart and commented:
    One of the wonderful blogs I follow (ruleofstupid) had a brilliant idea for those on the blog-o-sphere who may be alone during the upcoming Christmas season… and so I am sharing it… if you like his idea please let him know – Thanx

  3. I would definitely spend an hour or two of my time being available for a chat with someone feeling lonely on Christmas. Might be as simple as just reading and commenting on posts with a #lonelyonchristmas tag.

    1. Thank you Jaschmehl. I think I may set-up the Blog and then just invite lots of Editors. On the About page I can set some ‘boundaries’ to protect people. You are on my list of invites 🙂

    1. Thanks Alice. There’s no way of knowing if this will come to anything, but I’ll be notifying people shortly with a draft plan. Then we need to ‘tell the world’ – or the blog-o-sphere at least 🙂

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

... on being and becoming ...

... a mobius faith blog ...

faceatthewindow

the inside, and outside, of my head

Gabriela LeBarón

Stories Poetry Art Opinion

Poetry on the run

a poet's search for poetry

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

