Asylum – A Poem

The lunatics have got the keys
and they’re running things
From their asylum in the city
They call it democracy
I call it madness
Keep taking the tablets
The world is backwards
Freedom leaves us trapped
In a society of actors

From a universe of possibility
Grew an ape family
Who dreamed of the perfect face-cream
And choked to death on the fumes of industry
Buried their children
For a few more channels on television
Those who survived the bad decisions
Crawled from bunkers with munitions
To fight a war of attrition
In the name of science or religion
Brinkmanship
For the sinking ship
Till a whole new end was beginning

It’s no use running
This isn’t coming
It’s already here
Isn’t that something

5 thoughts on “Asylum – A Poem

Add yours

      1. No apologies–you give me awesome comments–I can give your work more than a “like” now and then, as I really do more that shake my head and say “nice!” when I read it 😉

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

... on being and becoming ...

... a mobius faith blog ...

faceatthewindow

the inside, and outside, of my head

Gabriela LeBarón

Stories Poetry Art Opinion

Poetry on the run

a poet's search for poetry

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

