Idiot Son – A Poem

“I won’t drop my line,” the old man says

“I fear I’ll catch no fish today.”

But the idiot son ignores his fathers wisdom

And brings home trout to feed on


We show the world what we are

By what we build

Declare ourselves the city

Burn it in disgust


The idiot son cooks his trout

On the flames


What else can he do?


We perceive only what we believe

Nod knowingly

Declare war on sight

Seeking the uniform


The idiot son smiles a welcome

And offers fish


He knows no better

2 thoughts on “Idiot Son – A Poem

Add yours

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

... on being and becoming ...

... a mobius faith blog ...

faceatthewindow

the inside, and outside, of my head

Gabriela LeBarón

Stories Poetry Art Opinion

Poetry on the run

a poet's search for poetry

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

