Soapy Angels and other adventures in arty-bits

I love many things that I am abjectly crap at – sex for one!!

But seriously, I love the piano, except my many attempts to master this beast have failed. I love to draw, but don’t get past a squiffy faced, long armed, hide the hands, hide the feet, lack of proportion mess. I also love sex. Did I mention that? Oh but ye gods the faces I pull…

Angel Carving

Soap angel carving

Anyway, I have oft heard mention of people creating sculptures out of soap. It seemed a strange idea but one day my curiosity got the better of me and I decided to have a go.

No amount of money could persuade me to exhibit the deformed monstrosities I created at first, but I think I’m getting the hang of it now. You can do great things with soap… but ye gods the faces I pull…! No, no, not that…

Angel Close-Up

Angel Close-Up

Soap is actually a great medium for practising sculpture. It’s cheap and you only need one or two tools to get started. You can grate soap and then mix a little water and create a sort of clay. If a bit breaks off it can usually be stuck on again (…but ye gods the faces I pull!) All the shavings and bits that collect can be mixed with water and reused. All terribly Blue Peter but actually really good fun. And when it comes to washing your hands, no need for soap – it’s just too good!

The pics are of an angel I carved as a pressie. I have made other bits but gave them away before I started this blog. They are slow to make as I am a busy fish, but if I do more I shall share those too, meanwhile I thought it would make a nice contrast to my rants and  poor sense of humour.

Soap carving on tray

Carving and tools

The world is insane and I'm in writing therapy!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in General
6 comments on “Soapy Angels and other adventures in arty-bits
  1. Mr Oh says:

    I lather like these.

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 804 other followers

Types of stuff
This many people
  • 21,084 have dropped by
Copyright – Rule of Stupid (c)
© Rule of Stupid 2015. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rule Of Stupid and ruleofstupid.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Digital Smithy

Reading, writing and a-rhythmic tics

The Last Half

Spitting into the online ocean.

the secret's out

Deciphering my Creativity

the tao of jaklumen

the path of the sage must become the path of the hero

Bishop Eddie Tatro's Study

Wisdom from a Southern-Gentleman & Bishop

Commentality - Lotsa Comments ....

Come On In and Enjoy The Ride!

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Chasing Rabbit Holes

This site is the cat’s meow and the dog's pajamas

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

behindthemaskofabuse

Abuse,narcissism,survival,there is hope,poetry,art,photography

In the Net! - Stories of Life and Narcissistic Survival

This is my story and I'm sticking to it!

UnfetteredBS

letting it rip, my way

mobius faith imaging

person of mystery...soul dancer...quietness advocate...invisibility promoter

Knocked Over By A Feather

IT WAS A BIG FUCKING FEATHER...

aliceatwonderland

. . . down the rabbit hole

waywardspirit

In wonder.

BroadBlogs

A broad blogs broadly on women’s & men's psychology: sex, relationships, equality

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

Speaker7

speaks to the masses of people not reading this blog

Fake Plastic Trees

A blog about the back of the box.

BECKY SAYS THINGS

Becky says things about things and other things

Mind of a Mouse

Easily Startled, Probably Panicking

Sheila Hurst

Reading, writing, dreaming

