Got to go there to get here – A Poem

Got to go there to get here

 

I taught myself to make flies,

To clean a reel, and unsnare a line;

How to measure the float to hook

And set the right weight of lead

If after a pike or a tench

In a river or brook.

 

I learned all this to teach my son

To fish well and feed his little ones;

Hours on the bank in the sun.

The rod pawned for a powder gun,

He shot himself numb

Because his friend said it should be done.

 

I taught my daughter how to read

The heroic in the normal deed.

Every type of fiction and fact,

How to sew or draw,

Adventures abroad,

All from a paperback.

 

Through long winter days

With the same love and care I gave

Lessons on mistakes her brother made.

She knew so much,

Yet I still lost touch

When she became a media slave.

 

But times have changed, goes the cliche;

All that love was not a waste,

Years passed and back they came.

Love had remained throughout

The maze of youth and doubt,

And when they felt lost, it saved.

 

After all, I had made the same mistakes,

I grew for my children’s sakes, which took strength,

Or I may have stayed dumb,

My life over, lost,

My children a cost,

Instead of bliss for years to come.

One thought on “Got to go there to get here – A Poem

Add yours

You can tell me anything (yes, even that!)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

... on being and becoming ...

... a mobius faith blog ...

faceatthewindow

the inside, and outside, of my head

Gabriela LeBarón

Stories Poetry Art Opinion

Poetry on the run

a poet's search for poetry

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

